Where we go walking in the evening.

August 7, 2016

This picture  was inspired by Thomas Davis’s picture of Potwatomi  State Park.Where my wife and i go walking couldn’t be more different. I don’t actually walk–I hobble along on my crutches. But that’s a story for another day. The picture is of the UN and the surrounding property.  We walk  on a small outcropping  of rock the forms two hills known as Tudor City.This view is on one side. Stay tuned for a view of the other side.

unwalk

3 Responses to “Where we go walking in the evening.”

  1. extrasimile Says:

    John and Tom—
    I feel as if I am writing to two old friends. I like at.
    Tudor City is easy to miss. On the UN side there is a rather steep staircase from First Ave. if you’re a tired tourist, there appears to be little reason to climb up there.. On the Second Ave side only one street provides you access. There are two small parks and a number of rather tall buildings lining one short road (4 blocks). It is the only area in midtown Manhattan that is not clogged with traffic all day long. Not long ago I saw a man and his son having a ‘catch’ out in the street. Try doing that on Fifth Avenue.
    John, there’s a poem/ song somewhere in your impertinence.‘I hobble to my hovel, don’t minds the trouble, I hobble to my hovel, looking for my shovel. Don’t mind the trouble. I’ll be there on the double.’ Maybe a rap song—don’t you think?
    Jim

  2. John Looker Says:

    I remember attending meetings a couple of times in that building twenty years ago but I don’t recall Tudor City. You’re privileged to be able to walk regularly there. Pity about the crutches Jim but I’m full of admiration for your strength of mind. (I’ve just had a mischievous thought of NY roads with those illuminated instructions to pedestrians: hobble/don’t hobble ! Sorry about that impertinence!)

  3. Thomas Davis Says:

    Couldn’t be more different, Jim. I was down in that area once years and years ago. I gave a speech at a foundation located not far from the UN. For the life of me I can’t remember the name of the foundation now. I admire your dedication to walking even on crutches. When I was young I was told that charcot marie tooth would cause me to be on crutches or maybe a wheel chair more likely than not by the time I was old, but I have been fortunate and that hasn’t happened yet. I have poor balance, and have been known to fall, but I can still take Pax, our oldest dog, on a walk in the morning. I have to say that I admire you both for your poetry and fortitude. Your art isn’t bad either. You are a talented man.


Leave a Reply

