Perfection

July 10, 2016

The soap and soup special tomorrow shows
Pure and abstract poetry best if left
Alone. The soap part lives apart in part

Because it is too pure to be housed with
The abstract poetry. The abstract poetry
Is left alone because of a lack of

Interest. Interesting, no? The soup is left
Alone because no one cares for it now.
Not so, the soap. When interest is everywhere,

There is no ‘where’ and no ‘when’ for abstraction
In poetry. It is truly a shunned
Experience… [So] Please leave us here alone. [ap] [up]

2 Responses to “Perfection”

  1. John Looker Says:

    This sounds like a cri de coeur. Sad, Jim. Must we have either soup or soap though? Can we not find some sort of synthesis? Might not each seep into the other? That might be best I think – but I guess your poem challenges us by polarising. It is of course soup. So let’s sup!

  2. extrasimile Says:

    A cri de coeur? Yes, it does to me too. Which is strange because it started out with my meditating on what ‘pure’ poetry could be. One thinks of Jabberwocky, where words [something that looks like a word] is divested off meaning. Okay, but no. baby talk is not poetry [or is it?]. Scat singing is not poetry. [Or is it?]. And is Jabberwocky really pure poetry? Is it ‘divested’ of meaning? …
    I won’t go on, but you see my point. This poem isn’t the product of some great emotional crisis—unless it reflects my overall being. Which it may. I wrote it very quickly, and I don’t think the ‘us’ [originally ‘me’] refers to me per se. it isn’t an example of pure poetry—I don’t know if there is such a thing.
    Anyway, this needs more exploring. Don’t you think?


Leave a Reply

