Noted

August 18, 2013

Infringement précis—
the eggs that I leave behind
will not fly away.

4 Responses to “Noted”

  1. extrasimile Says:

    Thanks, Anna. Something I’ll leave behind. That might be a rather nice way of thinking about haiku, don’t you think?

  2. Anna Mark Says:

    …all that we leave behind. Yes, I agree, what a provoking haiku.

  3. extrasimile Says:

    Between my poem and your thoughts, John, we may have defined the difference between an optimist and a pessimist rather well. I did have in mind two distinct situations, though. On the one hand, from the bird’s point of view, that the eggs will not hatch and become birds and fly is as bad thing. But on the other hand, I picture an old woman climbing among the rocks, collecting eggs. Those she can’t take today will still be there tomorrow. Some eggs are become birds, some become food.

  4. John Stevens Says:

    My word, Jim, what a haiku!
    A touch of sadness in those eggs – but they might yet hatch and fly I think!


Leave a Reply

