Middle School [Bathsheba Pulls the Plug]

April 27, 2013

The baby is in the dishwater, playing ‘Dish’.
He’s got dried egg yolk between his toes,
oatmeal up his nose. Soaking wet.
No clothes. Diaper wet diarrhea.
Bathsheba pulls the plug, the bride’s surprise.
If she had a paralyzing ray gun right now she would
paralyze him for the day and leave him in the sink.
Let him think about London or Lisbon or life on
Alcatraz Island before there was a prison there.
But she didn’t have paralyzing ray gun.
She didn’t even have permission to go to school yet.
To school to do what?  To form an after school club,
The Middle School Moms? To teach yourself how
to love so loud in your head it was like a scream?

6 Responses to “Middle School [Bathsheba Pulls the Plug]”

  1. extrasimile Says:

    Okay, fair enough. Maybe when I finish with the whole middle school thing, I’ll drop a few… hints. If I can think of any…I’d like to think that once it is finished there will be enough information in the text to understand (insofar as understanding is what you’re supposed to do with this stuff.)

  2. Anna Mark Says:

    I’ve so enjoyed reading the correspondence between you both, Jim and John, here with Bathsheba and earlier on with Mr. Principal or was it Principle? My connotations with the name Bathsheba come from the OT story of David and Bathsheba, a very well painted story as I’m sure you both know. And here she is with a baby in the dishwater…but oh, I must admit, though I am enjoying the words and the images, I need some commentary to “get” deeper into their meaning. And I can’t believe how much you’ve written (I’m jealous of this, ah well). Your Bathsheba seems a bit of a rebel. Would like to read your hints.

  3. John Stevens Says:

    I have a lot of sympathy with the views in the link, Jim. Most people today “don’t get” poetry, I would say, wouldn’t you?
    Reading poems is like eating snails: almost nobody can bring themselves to do it; a few will overcome their disgust from time to time if they are in the right the company; only an eccentric few will partake from choice, and generally in private.
    Why should this be? Poetry was popular and esteemed in earlier ages and still is in other cultures and languages.
    Would Lawrence James know? He sounds like an interesting guy.

  4. extrasimile Says:

    Well, John, it just might be the case that ‘Bathsheba’ isn’t her real name, but a name she gave herself, her ‘interesting’ name, if you will. I remember as a kid, trying to come up with an interesting name. ‘Lawrence James’ is what I decided on. What I thought so interesting about Lawrence James, I guess I’ll never know, but, hey, you can call me Larry. If you look up ‘Neema’, by the way, you will find it means ‘born into prosperity’, but, I don’t know, change the letters around a little and you get ‘Name me’—could just be a coincidence, I guess.
    Let me also add, John, these poems are kind of writing themselves. If you wanted to wait until the Middle School thing kind of runs its course before commenting, I’d be okay with that. I don’t want to wear you out. (You too Anna.) There is an interesting entry in HTML Giant (a website well worth looking at from time to time) that is relevant here. I’d be interested in hearing your thoughts about it.
    http://htmlgiant.com/reviews/i-dont-get-poetry-readings/

  5. John Stevens Says:

    “Bathsheba”! Does the Principal of this school have a policy of only recruiting staff or helpers with interesting names?!
    I like the internal rhymes and rhythms in this poem, Jim. It’s very playful.

  6. dulzimordash Says:

    Reblogged this on Nature’s Abhorred Vacuum.


Leave a Reply

