Late Summer’s Reply

September 7, 2012

Torn from latent roots
Thunder, the cloud’s carnation
The cicada reigns

This is an unsolicited continuation of Anna Mark’s ‘Cicada’. It of course has to stand on its own two legs.

4 Responses to “Late Summer’s Reply”

  1. Anna Mark Says:

    I’m thrilled. How beautiful. It doesn’t stand on legs at all. I think it takes flight.

  2. Anna Mark Says:

    Hmmn…Jim, the more I live with this poem, the more its thunder shakes. I’m really enjoying it. Today, it is cloudy, dark clouds, and I’m waiting for the carnations! What an image and what a sound.

  3. Anna Mark Says:

    Sorry, Jim…but, I also have to add that “carnation” makes me think both about the flower and also about something coming into flesh, into life. Very good. That’s all.

  4. extrasimile Says:

    Thanks Anna. It’s been storming around here today as well. Carnations? Indignations? Prestidigitations? All of the above? I’m not particularly happy with that last line. The cicada reigns. The ‘the’. I guess it’s befitting a regent…but still, it’s not quite right. Perhaps I’ll write another one, see if I can get the bugs out.


Leave a Reply

