[ 6 ]

August 11, 2012

We both weave a web.
The spider’s is intricate.
Mine will last too long.

2 Responses to “[ 6 ]”

  1. extrasimile Says:

    Thanks John. Gary Snyder is one of my favorite poets.

  2. John Stevens Says:

    Thanks for your reply to my comment on your [ Death ] poem, Jim.
    I have to tell you that I had not read Cold Mountain and in my ignorance had therefore missed a great deal of the allusions in this series of yours. But I’ve corrected that now by finding the Gary Snyder translation online. There’s a lovely calm tone to the the verses as he renders them, as I suppose I should expect, arriving at verses of eastern philosophy. I can see better now how your own lines in this series of poems are a reflection of that tone and those thoughts.
    In this little haiku you’ve caught that meditative tone perfectly, and also left a few thoughts blowing in the air – strands of web that stick to our faces maybe.
    Very nice. Very successful. Really well done.


Leave a Reply

