One of the Persimmons

November 4, 2011

If you will forgive me, sir…
I ate one the persimmons.
There were six, but one
was bruised and I knew you wanted
the picture to be a balance
of brush strokes
and paint and persimmon.
Like Mu Qi. I know you think perfection
is an illusion found in art alone, but…

It could have been a wormhole
sir, that persimmon, past death,
so delicious, so cold.

One Response to “One of the Persimmons”

  1. John Stevens Says:

    Congratulations Jim, and thank you for thinking about my suggestion. I like this a lot and I think the pruning worked well – the spare lines are true to the painting – and to WCW’s poem too. One particular success is that blank line before the image of the wormhole – very cute! Another is the new closing line of course!
    I hope you don’t feel dissatisfied with the result.


Leave a Reply

