Anniversary Poem (Bill to Flossie)

July 5, 2011

Speaking of
the sidereal, I left
the bread out in the rain

again last night.
It’s soaking wet,
ruined, so bloated,

like an unnecessary vow—
but softer
than when fresh.

It’s like the rain.
The grass is so glorious,
so delicious

and so full  of flowers
and yeast again,
I forget the years.

I do.

3 Responses to “Anniversary Poem (Bill to Flossie)”

  1. John Stevens Says:

    I didn’t know about Flossie’s reply though! (Fiesty woman, but she needed to work on her variable foot …)

  2. extrasimile Says:

    What, just because William Carlos Williams’ wife’s name was Florence, you think there is a connection…
    Actually ‘Bill’ Williams wrote this poem to his wife:
    *
    This is just to say

    I have eaten
    the plums
    that were in
    the icebox

    and which
    you were probably
    saving
    for breakfast

    Forgive me
    they were delicious
    so sweet
    and so cold
    *
    Floss wrote this ‘reply’

    Dear Bill: I’ve made a
    couple of sandwiches for you.
    In the ice-box you’ll find
    blue-berries–a cup of grapefruit
    a glass of cold coffee.

    On the stove is the tea-pot
    with enough tea leaves
    for you to make tea if you
    prefer–Just light the gas–
    boil the water and put it in the tea

    Plenty of bread in the bread-box
    and butter and eggs–
    I didn’t know just what to
    make for you. Several people
    called up about office hours–

    See you later. Love. Floss.

    Please switch off the telephone.

    *
    It is interesting. WCW’s clearly is a poem; his wife’s…?
    Anyway, that was the inspiration.
    It makes my day that you picked up on the echo.

  3. John Stevens Says:

    An artfully sideways introduction here! And I like those concluding lines, the repetition in yeast and years, in I forget and I do.
    (Is there an echo of William Carlos Williams?)


Leave a Reply

